Mimosa

 

January 2010 – Acrylic on canvas, 60cm x 50cm

2 thoughts on “Mimosa

  1. Sonya, I think this is the first painting I’ve seen of yours of a still life. It’s a beautiful composition and the wood contrasts well with the blue wall/sky. The flowers are gorgeous.

    I’m working on a vase of flowers right now that for some reason reminds me of this. Be on the look out on my blog. And when you finally see it I’m sure you’ll say to yourself “what is she talking about”. LOL!

  2. Thanks Carol – I wasn’t sure about this one but I felt like a change. I haven’t painted flowers for ages – not really since I was more into using watercolour.

    It’s interesting that you mention the colour of the “sky/wall” because in fact the wall wasn’t really there but I wanted to make a sort of chromatic grey as a background to set off the yellow because there has been so much grey sky recently I felt it was beginning to almost invade indoors!

    So in fact it is both sky & wall at the same time.

    Look forward to seeing what you come up with – hope it goes well.

Leave a Reply

