A late afternoon in Autumn – Etxalar

October 2010 – Acrylic on canvas 50 x 70cm

I seem to be having a problem with cameras at the moment, so this painting had to be photographed using a mobile phone! It looks a bit whited out on the left but it’ll have to do for now because I was determined to post this in October!….Next day …I got one of my sons to take a photo so have replaced the previous one. This one seems a bit dark on the other hand, but that could just be the screen!

Part of the challenge of making this painting was in taking a very typical subject matter (in this case a Basque village) & at the same time to  retain my own vision & approach.  

Una tarde de otoño – Etxalar

!Tengo un problema con mi camera entonces he sacado el foto de este cuadro con el mobil! Creo que los colores no han salido muy bien.

Uno de los retos de este cuadro ha sido de tomar un sujeto muy tipico (en este caso un pueblo vasco) y a la vez guardar mi vision y enfoque personal.

Un après midi d’automne – Etxalar

Comme  j’ai un problème avec mon apareil j’ai pris la photo avec un portable . Je ne sais pas si les couleurs sont bonnes.

Un des défis de cette peinture a été de reprendre un sujet très typique (dans ce cas un village Basque) en gardant tout de même ma vision et mon approche personelle.

12 thoughts on “A late afternoon in Autumn – Etxalar

  1. First of all, I’m all into this one with the inclusion of a cow! Nex, I climb that luscious hillside to say I want to live in that house on the hill. After that, I took in the wonderful shapes of church and foreground structures. All of this is tantalizing for the eye.
    You speak of the decisions you have to make to transform a scene your vision. I think that is always one of the most confusing things, also. I assume you mean things like what to include and what to leave out? I think you are a compositional genius often study how you have put things together. This is beautiful.

  2. Leslie you’re too kind!

    As for what to include in a composition- I do think about it a lot, but I can’t deny that in the end it’s a question of what feels right!
    I suppose when you’re painting, everything that you have ever assimilated (including other artwork, ideas, writing etc.) must have some sort of an influence over what “feels right” but it’s so complicated it’d be just about impossible to break down. And I think that’s maybe one of the good things that makes the human brain quite incomparable to a computer.

  3. I love your long shadows around the hills and trees. I too want to wander up the distant hill, beautiful colours as always and the composition a joy! Your style is so unique and there’s always the temptation for me to have a go in the same way. I guess that’s what happens when you’re an inspiration.

    • Very kind of you too!

      Style is an interesting thing because it’s very hard to pin down quite what makes it & yet we seem to recognise it as something sort of tangible.

      At least I’m not alone in not knowing this though – on the back of an E.H Gombrich book I was looking at earlier on today it says on the back cover:

      “It seeks to answer a simple question :why is there such a thing as style? The question maybe simple but there is no easy answer…”

  4. I like the zig zag path through this. Leslie is right, you are a compositional genius. I think too your very graphic style ensures you avoid sentimentalising your subject matter, even when you choose a very typical subject.

    • That’s very kind of you too!

      I may have said that I ended up looking at your blog initially beacause I thought perhaps it was something to do with the English painter from around the 1920/30s called Dora Carrington. The funny thing is, some of your work slightly reminds me of hers – or does that really just show how the mind works & the expectation made me more prone to see similarities?!

  5. It’s always nice and surreal whenever I see your painting, it’s as though I could feel the air around the beautiful mension. I love the composition with the house and the hills around it. Nice work Sonya.

    • Thank-you Francis. I often think reality itself can look almost surreal. “Over real” in the literal sense of the word.
      The “mension” I’m working out you mean “mansion?” The buildings are typical Basque traditional houses in this part of the world. They are very important as a part of Basque culture. The family is traditionally linked to the house through the ages. Of course these days this is more difficult for people, like everywhere I guess.

  6. Really excellent! I especially like the way you’re using light here – it’s like what photographers call the “magic hour” where light has its greatest effect. A wonderfully well-developed painting. Cheers! J.

Leave a Reply

